Follow Us
Epaper Thursday, June 13, 2024


EC notification for UP phase II polls today

January 20, 2022 10:26 AM


The Election Commission on Thursday said notification for the February 14 polls covering 55 assembly segments in nine districts of Rohilkhand region in Uttar Pradesh will be issued on Friday. In the second phase, Saharanpur, Bijnor, Amroha, Sambhal, Moradabad, Rampur, Bareilly, Badaun and Shahjahanpur will vote.


In the 2017 state elections, BJP won 40 seats from these 55 assembly segments while SP won 13 and BSP two. State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ajay Kumar Shukla said here the notification for the phase will be issued at 11 am on Friday. Friday will also mark the last date for filing of nominations for the first phase and the first date for filing nomination for second phase.


The state will go to polls in seven phases covering 403 assembly seats with polling to be held between February 10 and March 7 and announcement of result on March 10. In the first phase, filing of nominations commenced from January 14, scrutiny of the nominations filed till Friday will be held on January 24. The last date for withdrawal is January 27. Uttar Pradesh begins voting on February 10, when 58 assembly seats of 11 districts of western UP will vote.

Have something to say? Post your comment