Follow Us
Epaper Saturday, April 20, 2024


"We want leaders like Malkit Singh Birmi, Luv Kumar Goldy in our party," says Cong's Amarinder Singh Raja Warring

March 29, 2024 06:57 AM

Chandigarh : Punjab Congress president Amarinder Singh expressed content over former Punjab cabinet minister Malkit Singh Birmi and former Punjab MLA Luv Kumar Goldy joining Congress again. He welcomed both of them saying that the party needs such leaders who are "selfless" in nature.


"I welcome both of them. They decided to come back to Congress. Birmi ji left Congress in 2014 for six months after which he resigned. Today he came back again. He has not done this for any post or designation," he said.

Appreciating Luv Kumar Goldy, he said, "He became MLA twice. He joined Amarinder Singh. When Singh joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) he felt that he wouldn't be able to do the same. We want such selfless people. We don't want those people who keep changing their inclinations or leave the party because of the fear of losing the polls."

He added, "We want leaders like Malkit Singh Birmi and Luv Kumar Goldy in our party." Taking to the social media platform X, he wrote, "Happy to welcome luv kumar Goldy ji, former 2 time MLA & former jails and urban development minister Malkit Singh Birmi ji to the @INCPunjab fold. Together we will work dedicatedly towards ensuring a smooth victory for the party in the upcoming #ParliamentaryElection2024."


Notably, the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, are scheduled to be held in seven phases starting April 19. The counting of votes is slated for June 4. In Punjab, voting for the 13 Lok Sabha seats will take place on June 1.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP emerged victorious with 303 seats, while the Indian National Congress (INC) managed to secure only 52 seats. This was a significant increase from the 2014 elections, where the BJP won 282 seats and the INC got 44 seats.

In Punjab, the 2019 elections saw the INC winning 8 seats, while the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 2 seats each. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) managed to win only one seat. In the 2014 elections, the SAD and AAP won 4 seats each, the INC won 3 seats, and the BJP secured 2 seats.

Have something to say? Post your comment