Follow Us
Epaper Thursday, June 13, 2024


Bhakta Charan Das resigns as Odisha Congress Campaign Committee Chairman after party's defeat in elections

June 11, 2024 01:27 PM

Bhubaneswar : Former Union Minister and Congress leader Bhakta Charan Das has resigned from the post of Chairman of Odisha Congress Campaign Committee, taking moral responsibility for failure to get the expected number of seats both in Assembly and Parliament elections in Odisha.

In a letter addressed to All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Mallikarjun Kharge, Bhakta Charan Das said, "I was appointed as chairman of Campaign Committee of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee on March 22, 2024.

I am really grateful that the party reposed faith in me. I worked hard to contribute my best but unfortunately, we failed to come up to the expectations. We really appreciate the kind support and cooperation received from the Hon'ble Congress President, Former President Rahul Gandhi and other senior leaders of AICC during the election."

Taking responsibility for the party's performance in the 18th Lok Sabha elections, Das said, "I take the moral responsibility of failure to get the expected number of seats both in Assembly and Parliament election in Odisha. Therefore, I hereby resign from the post of Chairman, Campaign Committee, Odisha..."

In the Lok Sabha elections, the BJP secured 20 out of 21 seats while Congress managed to secure just one seat. In the Assembly elections, the Congress secured 14 out of 147 seats while BJP emerged victorious in 78 seats.

Meanwhile, the swearing-in ceremony of Odisha's new Chief Minister will take place on June 12, Odisha BJP President Manmohan Samal said on Monday.

"PM Modi will reach on 12th June by 2:30 pm for the oath-taking ceremony. The swearing-in ceremony will take place at 5:00 pm. Tomorrow the BJP legislative meeting will be held.

"On being asked if he is in the race for CM face he says, "BJPs parliamentary board will decide...No one is in the race (for the post of Chief Minister) in BJP...The observers will reach tomorrow."

Former Union Minister and BJP MP from Balasore, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, said that the central observers will elect the next Chief Minister of Odisha tomorrow.

"Union Ministers and Central Observers, Rajnath Singh and Bhupendra Yadav, to chair the first BJP legislative meeting at 4:30 pm at party headquarters in Bhubaneswar on June 11. The central observers should elect the leader of the party's legislative assembly in Odisha," he said.

Earlier on Sunday, the BJP appointed Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Yadav as central observers for the appointment of the Chief Minister of Odisha.

This decision was announced in an official release on Sunday by Arun Singh, the National General Secretary of BJP.
"The Parliamentary Board of the Bharatiya Janata Party has appointed Rajnath Singh, Union Minister, Government of India, and Bhupender Yadav, Union Minister, Government of India, as central observers for the election of the leader of the party's legislative assembly in Odisha," the release read.

Have something to say? Post your comment