Follow Us
Epaper Friday, July 19, 2024


By-elections: Highest voter turnout recorded in MP's Amarwara at 66.58 per cent

July 10, 2024 05:32 PM

Shimla : As of 3pm, the highest voter turnout was recorded in Madhya Pradesh's Amarwara at 66.58 percent while the lowest was recorded in Uttarakhand's Badrinath at 40.50 percent in the by-elections.

Himachal Pradesh's Dehra has recorded 55.30 per cent, Hamirpur has recorded 56.96 per cent and Nahalgarh has recorded 63.70 per cent of voter turnout. Bihar's Rupauli recorded a voter turnout of 42.19 percent while Punjab's Jalandhar West constituency recorded a turnout of 42.60 percent.

The turnout was 53.89 percent in West Bengal's Raiganj, 43.78 percent in Maniktala, 52.41 percent in Ranaghat Dakshin and 50.81 percent in Bagda. Uttarakhand's Manglaur recorded 56.21 percent while it remained 64.44 percent in Tamil Nadu's Vikravandi.

Voting is underway in a total of 13 Assembly constituencies across seven states. The electoral process, being the first since the Lok Sabha elections, will determine the futures of several seasoned politicians as well as newcomers, including Kamlesh Thakur, the wife of Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu.

In Maniktala, BJP has fielded Kalyan Chaubey, who will be contesting against TMC's Supti Pande. In Ranaghat Dakshin, TMC has fielded Mukut Mani Adhikari against the BJP candidate.
In Bagdah, TMC has pitted Madhuparna Thakur against the BJP's candidate. In Raiganj, the BJP has fielded Krishna Kalyani as its candidate against TMC candidate.

From Uttarakhand, Rajendra Singh Bhandari from Badrinath and Kartar Singh Bhadana from Manglaur have been fielded by the Bhartiya Janata party. In Himachal Pradesh's Hamirpur, Ashish Sharma (37) of BJP, Dr. Pushpinder Verma (48) of INC, and Independent candidate Nand Lal Sharma (64) are set to battle for victory.

The Congress party has nominated Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu's wife from Dehra who will be contesting against BJP's Hoshiyar Singh. Nalagarh's assembly constituency will witness a race between Hardeep Singh Bawa (44) of INC, KL Thakur (64) of BJP, Kishori Lal Sharma (46) of Swabhiman Party, and independents Harpreet Singh (36) and Vijay Singh (36).

Have something to say? Post your comment